Wissenschaft | Pocket Sky

Pocket Sky

Wissenschaft

Chronobiologie und zirkadianer Rhythmus.

Alles Leben auf der Erde, ob Mensch oder Tier, funktioniert im 24-Stunden-Rhythmus. Die Forschung über die Mechanismen, die diese zirkadianen Rhythmen steuern, wurde 2017 mit dem Nobelpreis für Medizin ausgezeichnet.

Licht beeinflusst unseren Körper.

Unsere tägliche Aufnahme von Sonnenlicht steuert unsere Körperuhr, indem es die Unterdrückung von Melatonin, einem schlaffördernden Hormon, auslöst. Es steuert die Zellregeneration, den Hormonspiegel oder den Stoffwechsel und bestimmt unseren Schlaf- und Wachzustand. Wenn unser Lebensstil nicht mit unserer Körperuhr übereinstimmt, weil wir im Schichtbetrieb arbeiten, ins Ausland reisen oder nicht genügend Sonnenlicht bekommen, leidet unser geistiges und körperliches Wohlbefinden.

Warum dieses besondere blaue Licht?

Blaues Licht mit einer Wellenlänge von etwa 470 nm stimuliert spezielle Rezeptoren auf der Netzhaut. Sie sind unabhängig von unserem visuellen System und ausschließlich für das "photic entrainment" zuständig, den einzigartigen Prozess der Einstellung der Körperuhr durch Licht. Zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Studien belegen die Wirkung von Licht auf unser zirkadianes System zweifelsfrei. In einem komplexen photobiologischen Prozess unterdrückt der Blauanteil des Lichts die Produktion von Melatonin, einem schlaffördernden Hormon.

Warum 500 Blaulicht-Lux?

Herkömmliche Lichttherapie arbeitet mit dem vollen Spektrum des fluoreszierenden weißen Lichts, das 10000 Weißlicht-Lux benötigt, um wirksam zu sein. Pocket Sky erzeugt nur jene biologisch aktive blaue Wellenlängen, die notwendig sind, um das zirkadiane Entertainment zu stimulieren. Dadurch ist eine viel geringere Lichtintensität von nur 500 Blaulicht-Lux, notwendig, um die gewünschten Effekte zu erzielen. Das ist auch der Grund, warum Pocket Sky um so viel kompakter und dadurch mobiler ist als jede andere Lösung auf dem Markt.

Die Bedeutung der richtigen Positionierung während der Einwirkzeit.

Um die lichtempfindlichen Rezeptoren auf Ihrer Netzhaut zu beleuchten, muss das blaue Lichtfeld den Augapfel bedecken. Überprüfen Sie sich deshalb in einem Spiegel und stellen sie sicher, dass die Position während der Einwirkzeit korrekt ist - sonst gibt es nicht den gewünschten Effekt! Verwenden Sie auch immer das kürzeste Nasenstück, das möglich ist.

Muss ich meine Augen auf das Licht richten, während ich Pocket Sky benutze, um den Effekt zu erzielen?

Ja, das müssen Sie. Sie können lesen, arbeiten, trainieren oder was auch immer tun, während Sie Pocket Sky benutzen - aber es ist notwendig, während der Sitzung auch häufig ins Licht zu schauen.

Wie lange soll man Pocket Sky für eine Sitzung tragen?

Pocket Sky leuchtet für die Dauer von 20 Minuten. Diese Zeitspanne reicht nach wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen aus, um die beabsichtigte Wirkung auszulösen. Nach 20 Minuten schaltet sich das Wearable automatisch aus.

Wie viele Pocket Sky-Sitzungen (20 Minuten) pro Tag?

Menschen haben eine individuelle Menge von Melatonin in ihrem Körper – manche mehr, manche weniger. Für die meisten Menschen reichen ein oder zwei Sitzungen pro Tag aus. Wir empfehlen, Pocket Sky nicht mehr als insgesamt 60 Minuten (oder 3 Sitzungen) innerhalb von 24 Stunden zu verwenden.

Wie lange dauert es, bis die Wirkung einsetzt?

Jeder Mensch ist anders und so sind auch die Auswirkungen auf seinen Organismus. Die meisten Menschen werden sich durch Pocket Sky sofort aktiviert fühlen und ihre Wachheit und Stimmung wird sich verbessern. Nach zwei oder drei Tagen der Anwendung werden sie auch eine Verschiebung ihrer Körperuhr erleben, zum Beispiel wenn sie in eine neue Zeitzone reisen oder im Schichtbetrieb arbeiten.

Wäre es nicht ausreichend, einen normalen LED-Bildschirm anstelle von Pocket Sky zu verwenden?

Moderne Bildschirme strahlen zwar auch blaues Licht aus, aber ihre Leistung ist um ein Vielfaches geringer als die von Pocket Sky. Es dauert daher viel länger, um - vielleicht - den gewünschten fotobiologischen Effekt zu erzielen. Wenn man auf einen Bildschirm schaut, wechselt man oft den Abstand zu ihm. Da die Lichtintensität mit dem Quadrat der Entfernung variiert, gibt es dadurch keinen standardisierten Effekt. Pocket Sky erzielt einen standardisierten Effekt, indem die lichtempfindlichen Rezeptoren auf den Augen aus einer nahen standardisierten Entfernung beleuchtet werden, was den biologischen Effekt sicher gewährleistet.

x

Science | Pocket Sky

Pocket Sky

Science

Chronobiology and Circadian rhythm

All life on earth, human or animal, operates on 24-hour rhythms. Research on the mechanisms controlling these Circadian rhythms has been awarded with the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 2017.

Light affects our body

Our daily intake of sunlight governs our body clock by triggering the suppression of melatonin, a sleep-inducing hormone. It controls cell regeneration, hormone levels, or metabolism and determines our sleep and wakefulness. If our lifestyle is misaligned with our body clock because we work in shifts, travel overseas or do not get enough sunlight, our mental and physical well-being suffers.

Why this special blue light?

Blue light with a wavelength of about 470 nm stimulates special receptors on the retina. They are independent from our visual system and exclusively in charge of "photic entrainment", the unique process of setting the body clock by means of light. >Numerous scientific studies prove the effects of light on our circadian system beyond doubt. In a complex photo-biological process the blue component of light suppresses the production of melatonin, a sleep-inducing hormone.

Why 500 blue-light-lux?

Traditional bright light therapy works with the full spectrum of fluorescent white light which requires 10.000 white-light-lux to be effective. Pocket Sky only generates blue wavelengths that are necessary to stimulate circadian entrainment. Therefore, a much lower intensity of light, in our case 500 blue-light-lux, is necessary to achieve the desired effects. That's also why Pocket Sky is so much smaller and portable than any other solution on the market.

The importance of correct positioning

To illuminate the light-sensitive receptors on your retina, the blue light field must cover the eyeball. Therefore check yourself in a mirror and make sure that the position during the exposure time is correct - otherwise the desired effect will not be achieved! Always use the shortest nose piece possible.

Do I have to look into the light while using Pocket Sky?

Not all the time, but make sure to do that occasionally. You can read, work, work out, or do whatever while using Pocket Sky – but also look into the light during your session.

How long to wear Pocket Sky for one session?

Pocket Sky lights up for 20 minutes. According to scientific findings, this period of time is sufficient to trigger the intended effect. After 20 minutes the Wearable switches off automatically.

How many sessions (20 minutes) a day?

People have individual levels of melatonin in their body – some more, some less. For most, one or two session per day will be enough. We recommend using Pocket Sky not more than a total of 60 minutes (or 3 sessions) within 24 hours.

How long does it take to start the effect?

All human beings are different and so are the effects on their organism. Most people will immediately feel activated by Pocket Sky and their vigilance and mood will improve. After two or three days of usage they will also experience a shift in their body clock, for example when travelling to a new time-zone or when working in shifts.

Would it not be sufficient to use a normal LED screen instead of Pocket Sky?

Although modern screens emit blue light, their "performance" is many times lower than that of Pocket Sky. It therefore takes much longer to - perhaps - achieve the desired photobiological effect. When you look at a screen, you often change the distance to it. Since the light intensity varies with the square of the distance, there is no standardized effect. Pocket Sky achieves a standardized effect by illuminating the light-sensitive receptors on the eyes from a fixed distance, which reliably ensures the biological effect.

Experts about us 

The Institute for Sleep-Wake-Research has initiated numerous studies with the focus on sleep and alertness.

Since bright light is one of the strongest “Zeitgeber” to regulate our circadian clock and thereafter our sleep-wake rhythm, the application of light has a wide range of therapeutic properties.

Pocket Sky is a user friendly and easy-to-apply tool for ambulatory light exposure and may be beneficial for stabilizing the sleep-wake rhythm as well as improving wellbeing during periods of low exposure to natural light. Therefore, the ISWF will use Pocket Sky in studies to apply blue light to enhance alertness (e.g. on the road, during nightshift) or as a tool to boost fitness and performance (e.g. for sportive activities).

Future Market Insights, Seasonal Affective Disorder Therapeutics Market: Global Industry Analysis 2013-2017 and Opportunity Assessment 2018-2028, press release 18.2.2019.

Inaccessibility at workplaces or during traveling has been a shortfall of light box therapy over the years. To help patients suffering from SAD explore non-conventional alternatives to seasonal affective disorder therapeutics, Austria-based med-tech startup, Active Wearables, recently launched a wearable device – Pocket Sky – providing light therapy, practically anywhere. The Pocket Sky will potentially serve as a portable and lightweight light therapy solution to patients of seasonal affective disorder. Such innovations will continue to innovate the seasonal affective disorder therapeutics market landscape.

x